Strand Theatre

York Symphony's Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concerto: Opening Night

Showtimes: 10/07/2023 7:30pm

Buy Tickets Group Info Gift Card Info

​York Symphony Orchestra: 2023-24 Classical Series

Offering in-person seating and digital access for 48-hour access after premiere.

Subscriptions and Pick 5 packages on-sale now! Subscribe online or call the Appell Center box office at 717-846-1111. Subscriptions & Pick 5 includes seats and digital access. Single tickets on sale August 1.


Lawrence Golan, Conductor
Nicolas Bourdoncle, Piano

The York Symphony Orchestra begins the 23-24 season with Dmitri Shostakovich’s lively and bombastic Festive Overture in anniversary of the pivotal October Revolution. The evening continues with Tchaikovsky’s iconic Piano Concerto No. 1 featuring pianist Nicolas Bourdoncle. Inspired by African-American spirituals and racial tensions, Opening Night concludes with Florence’s Price’s meaningful First Symphony.

Dmitri Shostakovich: Festive Overture
Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No. 1
Florence Price: Symphony No. 1


Digital access instructions:

1) Purchase a digital ticket online through your Appell Center account.
2) You will receive an email confirmation with a link to access the livestream.
3) Click on the link to enjoy the YSO from your home during the 48-hour concert access.

How to access the digital concert on a smart tv:

1) Before the concert: Click the link from your confirmation email on a computer, tablet or smart phone and add this video to your youtube account’s “watch later” list.

2) To watch the concert: Go to the YouTube app on your smart tv. Then go to your “watch later” list and choose the livestream concert. Sit back and enjoy the concert!

Donate Subscribe
Buy Tickets